July 30, 2019

Grantees Participate on the Mayoral Transition Team


Leadership representing twenty Fry Foundation grantees in Arts Learning, Education, Employment, and Health served as representatives across Mayor Lori Lightfoot’s 10 transition teams. Committee members were selected to inform city-wide discussions and contribute ideas for the new administration. Transition committee members prepared memos as part of the committee process. These memos reflected the perspectives that committee members brought to the process. Below is a list of individuals associated with the Fry Foundation grantees who participated in the discussions and submitted memos. Fry Foundation Board Member, Amina Dickerson, also participated on the Arts and Culture Transition committee.

Arts and Culture
Carlos Tortolero (Co-Chair)
National Museum of Mexican Art

David Feiner
Albany Park Theater Project

Hallie Gordon
Steppenwolf Theater

Akilah Halley

Heather Ireland Robinson
Jazz Institute of Chicago

Business, Economic and Neighborhood Development
Maria Kim (Co-Chair)

Brenda Palms Barber
North Lawndale Employment Network

Jack Crowe
Year Up

Cherita Ellens
Women Employed Organization

Aarti Dhupelia (Co-Chair)
National Louis University

Phyllis Lockett
LEAP Innovations

Adelric McCain
Network for College Success, University of Chicago School of Social Service Administration

Jenny Nagaoka
University of Chicago Consortium on School Research

Health and Human Services
David Munar (Co-Chair)
Howard Brown Health

Karen Foley
Juvenile Protective Association

Dan Fulwiler
Esperanza Health Centers

John Peller
AIDS Foundation of Chicago

Roberta Rakove
Sinai Health System

Donna Thompson
Access Community Health